In 796 the Ojibwe (or Chippewa), Ottawa (or Odawa), and Potawatomi tribes formed and alliance.  In this agreement Ojibwa were designated the “keepers of the faith,” the Odawa are the “keepers of trade,” and the Potawatomi are the designated “keepers/maintainers of/for the fire”. Through the totem-system and promotion of trade, the Council maintained a peaceful existence with its neighboring tribes. However,  unresolved disputes occasionally escalated into wars.